Sims not provisioned MM #2

Thank you for visiting the NET10 Forum, your one-stop resource for NET10 information.

Sims not provisioned MM #2

Postby gemsofjen@live.com » Sun Apr 15, 2018 1:35 am

I was transferring my # to a brand-new net 10 phone bout direct from net10. From a old net10 phone. . I also entered my $35 min card directly on the phone. Now both phones are inactive. I still had a full month i paid for on the old phone. I don't know what to do. Web site down and when I call it rings then when it transfer me it's dead air. And nothing
gemsofjen@live.com
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:20 pm

Re: Sims not provisioned MM #2

Postby Net - Larry » Sun Apr 15, 2018 1:33 pm

Hi gemsofjen@live.com. My name is NET10 Larry. I read your post and I am sorry you’re having some problems. For further assistance, please check your forum inbox for a message. Click on "New Messages" beside User Control Panel to view your forum inbox. Thank you.
Net - Larry
 
Posts: 1988
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:22 am

Sims not provisioned MM #2

Postby HenryHurne » Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:31 am

When fax Friday comes....
Your opinion is all we need...
So fax it on over for Coleman and Sims to read...
HenryHurne
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 11:14 am
Location: Sri Lanka


Return to Welcome

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests